Bas Rutten O2 Trainer

VampireMonk

Black Belt
@Black
Reaction score
I've been using the O2 Trainer for about 2 months now. And ever since I've been using it on a regular basis I haven't had an asthma attack. Now this is a big deal for me because I've had asthma all my life, I'm 40 years old now, and I've just come to live with it. When I was a kid it was really bad and I was hospitalized a lot. So much that my family almost went bankrupt and I almost didn't make it pass junior high because of so many absences. After junior high and towards high school, I got stronger from swimming and martial arts, but the asthma was always there. I never met anyone who had asthma worse than me. So it's been nothing short of a miracle for me that I haven't had any asthma for almost 2 months now. I workout more now, and I feel more confident in my cardio. I like that it makes my workouts shorter because it makes it more challenging.

Here is a clip of me using it. Bas Rutten's wife was kind enough to post this video on their O2 Trainer Facebook page!

These things are generally stupid. Why would wearing one for a few minutes of training a few times a week stimulate the changes the body experiences when training at high altitude? Even if you wear it for an hour a day and train everyday that's still 23 hours a day at normal altitude - all you're doing is making your air intake muscles work harder. For 99% of people any conditioning weakness is not due to poor air intake - it's gas exchange and fatigue. This will not help with either.

Also, being at altitude is not a question of less "air" intake, its a question of density of O2, and that, you cannot mimic using a mask.

As for your asthma? Very interesting, almost unbelievable.

Altitude is a bitch. Back when I worked for the forest service I lived in Leadville Colorado which is the highest city in the USA, about 10,200 feet. I used to run the mountains all the time with no issues.