Bad idea to train multiple martial arts at once?

Frozen Sea

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I've been huge MMA fan for about a year now and have decided to begin training. I found two very good gyms in my area. I just turned 18 and graduated last year so all I have is free time and I'm overall a quick learner and very competitive.

So with that said I have two questions. Is it disrespectful / frowned upon to train at 2 different gyms? One gym is an American Top Team gym with very good coaches from what I've seen and the head coach has a pretty decent record in Bellator. The other gym teaches Sambo classes which is a martial art I find very interesting and have wanted to learn since getting into MMA. And it is home to a few Sambo World Champions. I want my main gym to be with ATT but I also want to learn Sambo.

I have never done any martial arts training before. Here is the schedule I plan to put into action. I will also be working 4 Days a week on top of this.

GCJvQTw.png

If you are paying them it is your choice. You are a customer not a disciple.

I was going to say that looks like a pretty rough schedule to maintain but you are 18. You will be fine until you turn 30.

What is striking fit? If that is a Taebo class you are wasting your time.

I think your time would be better spent in another Muay Thai class or lifting weights instead of doing the cardio kickboxing.

I think your time would be better spent in another Muay Thai class or lifting weights instead of doing the cardio kickboxing.

My experience with cardio kickboxing for fighters is that it is only good if you are an amazing visual learner with natural athletic body control a high physical IQ. For normal people, it just makes bad habits permanent.

Too much too soon is a common beginner's mistake.