Anyone ever decide to stop getting stronger?

Fedorgasm

Steel Belt
@Steel
Reaction score
After suffering my latest in a long string of injuries, I'm starting to ask myself if I really want to continue pushing myself to get stronger. I have my 1 rep max for deads, squats, bench, etc, and I'm getting to a point where every time I try to push beyond that max, I get injured.

I've only been lifting consistently for about a year and I'm not a strong guy, but at almost 40 years old I'm starting to think it might be better to be the regular guy that can actually enjoy life rather than strong guy who can't do much because his back always hurts, or shoulder, or knee, or hip, etc. I'm not an athlete or a fighter so I really don't need strength in my day to day life. I just started lifting because I'm physically weaker than most guys.

I'd still like to lift, because I enjoy it, but maybe I'll just stop increasing the weight and try to keep what strength I have rather than add to it. I have been doing stronglifts 5x5 which ramps up the weight pretty fast. Maybe I just change to a program that ramps up very slowly. Is there an "old-lifts 5x5"?

Who knows, maybe I'm just deep in the injury depression and I'll change my mind once I can start doing squats again.

I am going to suggest two things:

1) Please post videos of 85%+ lifts. Maybe there is something that we can tweak to make it so that you do not get injured going above and beyond;

2) Cut back 10% on your 1RM and try the W531 protocol. It is a slow progressing template that doesn't have too much volume. This way, you can keep your strength gains and potentially get stronger.

I always wanted to increase my endurance strength.

I imagine goals will have to change on a long enough time line. I have lifetime goals on certain lifts, Lord knows if I'll ever hit them or what I'll do when that happens.

But yeah... 531 try that.

Whats getting injured, and how?