After 10 years off, I'm returning to the ring! Spar [Video]b

wiseolddragon

Yellow Belt
@Yellow
Reaction score
I want to start by making it clear that this thread is just as much about holding myself accountable as it is about cataloging my journey.

At age 12, I was trained as a boxer in a gym that had low level fighters that relied on toughness and aggression and as a result most of my boxing skill would have to be described as self taught. I sparred alot against these hyper aggressive brawlers which as a kid who thought too much, viewed it as a challenge to avoid being hit.

Over the next 8 years it became easy to avoid getting hit completely. I'd "spar" with friends and the Texas State football team all the time, which people only agreed with given the condition I didn't hit back. But I was good enough and really nothing was more fun than showing people they couldn't hit me even if they tried. I know I wasn't doing this with people who fought like boxers, but each time I got a little better, my reflexes calmer. Through high school and college I must have done this thousands of times multiple people in a row, with the very rare person who wanted to try it with getting hit back, having to eat a single straight right in between all my bobbing and weaving. For me it was just fun. The average person wasn't a danger to me anyway on sheer physicality, I'm 6'2 and at the time was 200 lbs lean and muscular.

Here I am at 18:
OF2OBC7.jpg

I fought 15 amateur fights with a record of 13-2, my last being at a Fraternity sponored Fite Nite in San Marcos, Texas, I was 21 years old.

My 2 losses left me little in terms of actually testing myself to my limit. In both fights, the other guys were beaten and bloodied while I was completely undamaged.