The best or the bigger fighter?

thobra

Red Belt
@red
Reaction score
I think everyone can agree that there needs to be some changes in terms of weightcutting.
I have some experience in weightcutting for junior amateur boxing and kickboxing, and I know that even 2-5 kilos makes a huge difference (same day weigh ins). You were just not competitive at all vs a guy a weightclass up (10 lbs up). In MMA I would think it means much more.

So to the case: I will use two examples. Keep in mind that these probably are two of the most extreme weight cutters in mma..

- Max looked to be at least a weightclass bigger than Aldo, and we know he is a huge cutter.
- DC claims to weigh about 240 when he steps in the cage at LHW. Big John backs up the claim.

- So, is Max a better fighter than Aldo, or is it just because of the weight? What would happen if they weighed the same?
- Would DC beat Anderson if it wasn't for a 40 lb size advantage?
- In terms of p4p.. Does big guys like Khabib or Jones deserve to be there, when when they are so much bigger than most of their opponents?

I think everyone that did some sort of competitive martial art will see it the same way I do.

Being heavier/bigger is ofcourse an advantage but not everything dont you realize that?

I think it depends on the fighter.

Guys like Jon Jones really benefit from the size advantage. In his case, his height and reach advatage are a major part of his game. He uses his arms often to measure the distance.

Conor had a similar technique when he fought at FW. His height/reach advantage were a major part of his game.

But you have other guys who are very successful regardless of their size, like Frankie Edgar or Cormier at HW.

I think it benefits the grappling more than striking, which is why a lot or wrestlers/grapplers need a strength advantage in order to be competitive with the best.

When you think about it, there are a lot of cases where the bigger fighter is more successful.