Alistair Overeem on his loss to Francis

BC

Helax
@Gold
Reaction score

On his loss to Francis:

“I don’t really have a feeling about it, I’ve lost before. I’ve lost in shitty ways before. There has been all kinds of losses I can remember, I’ve been fighting for twenty years. I believe I have 87 or 88 or 86 fights or something so you are going to have everything in it.

Yeah I don’t really have a special emotion with the loss, it was just a loss, it looked ugly, you gotta restart, reset, and now we’re back.”

In regards to if he has ever been hit as hard as he was in the Francis fight:

“Umm...maybe not (Alistair chuckles) maybe not. Maybe not, this was the beginning of the fight, fresh energy, full power, running into the punch basically.”

On if he is able to watch the Francis fight or if he tries to ignore it:

“I have zero problems watching that fight.

It’s a part of the sport right? It’s a part of my job. It happened. Let’s not forget you are going to have your highs, you are going to have your lows, in the end you are going to embrace both of them....

It’s fighting, its violence, you know I’ve never really had a serious injury knock on wood and I hope that never happens...but this stuff happens in the sport you get knocked out, yeah, so what?”

Man Overeem’s ability to just keep rising back up after these brutal losses and maintain his consistent top 10 ranking for well over a decade is so damn impressive.

20 years deep in the game, he has fought all these beasts:

Stipe
Mirko Cro Cop
JDS
Hunt
Werdum
Brock
Sergei
Shogun
Chuck
Mir
Vitor
Igor
Andrei
TRT Bigfoot Silva

The list goes on and on and that’s just mma, not to mention Badr Hari, Tyrone Spong, Saki, Aerts, etc.

It was just dope to hear him talk about how he deals with adversity like that Francis KO, and it was really refreshing as well especially when a lot of fighters these days tend to have an inability to accept an L and ramble off grocery store lists of excuses. (Stipe tapped I seent it)