L. Smith v. The UFC: A Lawyer's Take

Negator402

Yellow Card
Banned
Reaction score
In the wake of the Leslie Smith release, people are jumping onboard the union train. I am a lawyer in NYC. I am not a labor attorney or an employment attorney, but I represent restaurants and small businesses (both in litigation and other issues) and I see the effect of the proliferation of unions and the allegedly “pro-worker” laws and regulations they push.

The union is a product of the Gilded Era’s excesses, with workers living in tenements and ownership living like aristocrats, which violates the American sense of humble work and fair play. However, the compare the UFC to professional sports teams is absurd. Sports teams are tethered to cities, have ground leases on billion-dollar stadiums, and have a massive entrenchment both in their local market and in the public eye at large. There are several teams in baseball (Yankees) and football (Cowboys) that are worth as much, if not more, than the UFC, even if you use the absurdly inflated 4.2B price WME foolishly paid in 2016.

The effect of a union on a sport with this little infrastructure and this fragile a profit margin would be a disaster. Not only would fighters have greater power to hold out, but the designation of employee versus independent contractor would expose the UFC to a countless amount of regulation, the NLRB, and various local bodies, all of which would now regulate and micromanage this ultimately-niche “sport.” The result would be the demise of American MMA.