Pat Miletich vs Carlos Newton question...

PalmStrike

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
So I rewtched UFC 31 last night...great card btw.

Im still shocked that Newton tapped Pat with what looked like a headlock.

Can anyone shed some light on why Pat couldn't get out of it? Did he simply panic?

I thought it was under the neck?

EDIT: Just checked, yeah bro it was a bulldog choke, clearly has a full arm under the neck. He just got the squeeze in tight and quick, not much time to defend - may have caught him mid breath too - plus Carlos used the cage to block a route for Pat.

That was a crazy submission. Two pioneers of the sport going at it. Now a days you would think fighters could get out of it. But that choke was crazy tight.

That was a crazy submission. Two pioneers of the sport going at it. Now a days you would think fighters could get out of it. But that choke was crazy tight.

I'm no grappling expert but if I were to venture a guess as to why we don't see it today is that it's high risk/low reward positionally. Seems like a good way to get your back taken.

Super tight bulldog choke. Pat let his guard down in a scramble and Newton took advantage. Newton is a super strong and very skilled submission artist, when he gets ahold of something, he cranks, squeezes and pulls until his opponent taps or something breaks. Did you see Newtons arm when he had Pat in that choke? No way Pat was getting out.

I'm no grappling expert but if I were to venture a guess as to why we don't see it today is that it's high risk/low reward positionally. Seems like a good way to get your back taken.
Carlos used the cage to potentially block an attempt at a full back take.

He reaches for Carlos's right leg but its shielded by the fence, Pat gives it up and from there the choke is so tight.

Look at newtons arms...
Would probably tap from a neck crank from that guy lol

I thought it was under the neck?