Georges St-Pierre believes in ring rust but says it won’t be a factor against Michael Bisping

KazDibiase

"My style is kneeing people in the face."
@Silver
Reaction score
Answering fan questions for Hayabusa on their Facebook page yesterday, St-Pierre says he believes in the concept of ring rust but that because he is such an experienced fighter, he doesn’t think it will play much of a factor in their contest after the first few minutes.

“I believe in ring rust. People say there’s no such thing but I believe in ring rust. It will be an issue but I’m a very experienced man. I’m one of the guys that’s spent the most time in the octagon in the UFC, maybe the most, I’m not sure in terms of time. I think because I have a lot of experience, the more time I will spend as the fight goes, the more comfortable I will be. For me, it will be very important [at] the first second of the fight. That’s when I will have to be very aware, very careful. That will be the most dangerous moment for me because when you have ring rust, that’s the hardest part of the fight. When you just step in and the fight start, that’s where the ring rust comes from, the difficulty of adaptation. But after a few minutes, I will be back to normal.”

Very few fighters ever return to action after layoffs that long and even less do so successfully while competing at a higher weight division. It’s this second part which St-Pierre says may be tougher to deal with but is ultimately part of the appeal in challenging himself.

“When I knew that we were going to fight Michael Bisping, when I signed it, that’s when I decided to try and put [on] a little bit more weight. I won’t be able to put [on] a lot because I’m a natural guy but I’m already a little bit bigger than I was. I’m the biggest I’ve ever been, right now, in my life. Bisping will still be bigger than me but I’m confident it will help...