Shogun on retirement pressure: "I'm experienced, but I'm also a young guy."

CereserBr

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
“The subject bothers me a little,” Rua told MMAjunkie. “Because I’m experienced – I’ve been fighting for many years – but I’m also a young guy. I’m 35. People stop at 40, 38, 39. Depends. I think every athlete has the liberty to stop whenever they want.

“People speculate that a lot about me because I’ve had a few losses, but everyone has losses. So if a doctor doesn’t perform a perfect surgery, they need to retire? If a dentist doesn’t perfectly extract a tooth, they need to retire? A businesswoman goes into a meeting and it’s not successful, she needs to retire? If I’m happy to be fighting, and the UFC is happy to have me fighting for them, I don’t know why people are so bothered by it.”

http://mmajunkie.com/2017/01/ufcs-s...essure-im-experienced-but-im-also-a-young-guy

True enough.

He was only 24 when he won the 2005 Pride MWGP.

But I think he should drop to 185. There's no championship potential for him with Jones, Cormier, A. Johnson, and Gustafsson at the top, but if Bisping pulled a championship run out-of-nowhere in 2016, then the potential is there for a Shogun comeback story at middleweight.

WAR Shogun.

I have been saying for years that he has more in the tank and I've been right.

I wish Shogun vs Manuwa was happening.

maxresdefault.jpg

All that damage and knee surgeries has his age at 65 at best....Stop lying to yourself Maurício.

"The young Shogun" coming for that belt

I agree with him only about a couple of years ago. People were already saying that he should have retired before he won the UFC title. Combat sports fans can act like total broads when it comes to this issue. The word retire is thrown around for every guy who was in a tough fight.

Him and BJ want to fight on...

<{CMPALM}>

Because i don't like to see you take danage shogun...

You're too beautiful for this sport