thanks for the good answers

Platinum

Red Belt
@red
Reaction score
I don't know that much about him.
I am curious and not afraid to show it. I am fairly new in the MMA community, having started to watch MMA in 2011.

I know that he started off with BJJ and after becoming succesful in BJJ tournaments he switched to MMA. He managed to defeat one of the best welterweights Matt Hughes back then and also captured the lightweight belt. He did not succesfully beat GSP to become a two division champion and his record isn't that impressive at all. Plus he looked like shit against Edgar.

EDIT: Missed a big fact that he indeed did win the welterweight belt in his younger days so he was a two weight division champion. That makes everything more clear.

Now, what makes him such a good fighter? I often hear that he was a "natural talent"

Is it because he was willing to fight at any weight division and was succesful in some of them or what?

Last edited by a moderator:
The dude fought Lyoto Machida at heavyweight

Also, sometimes an image says a lot more than I possibly could.

bj penn.png

Last edited:
Held 2 belts,, beat the whos who in his prime by pure destruction..

You can change the begging of your text to : "BJ got a BJJ black belt in a record time and was the first non-brazillian to become BJJ world champion"

Then you go on

Upset Hughes when Hughes was the motherfucker

1 of 2 men to hold 2 different weight class titles in the UFC

Fought above the weight class he belonged in (LW) at WW, MW, and openweight, for better or worse.

First American to win the Mundials at the black belt level. After earning his BJJ black belt in 3 years.