Originally Posted by stav
Nothing confusing about it.
When a strike is thrown and the opponent moves in a way that makes the strike land in what would be an illegal region then it is not a foul.
Think of it like basket ball and the difference between a charging foul or a defensive foul.
Best analogy i can think of.
I feel what you're saying saying regarding 'when' the strike is thrown... but again, more subjectivity in MMA.
I can keep aiming for your ear and I'll hit the back of your head every time you throw diagonal strikes and that will be 'turning into it' too right?
That's the point i'm raising.
Still, the rule is there for a fighter's safety. I feel the fight should have been paused and restarted. He was hit in the head, sure- not intentionally, but the fight shouldn't end as a result of a strike landing in an illegal area.
If I was throwing mid kick at you at the same time you went for a high kick and hit you straight in the balls... would it be an acceptable TKO?