Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums

Go Back   Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums > Fight Discussion > UFC Discussion

UFC Discussion Discuss UFC, former WEC and former Pride events here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-05-2013, 02:14 PM   #1
larrylegend

White Belt
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 112
vCash: 500
Takedown Scoring (Relative)

I think a big problem exists with judging the exact value of a takedown, as in people wanting to give it a definitive value in the scoring criteria. When in fact these takedowns have to be scored relative to each individual fight.

For example once a guy proves he can get back to his feet after a takedown, without assistance from a referee or a clock, then the value of takedowns against him has to become devaluized by some degree.

Of course a problem would still arise in situations like the Machida/Davis fight, where because of the timing of the takedowns, we were never given a good opportunity to see what would have transpired with a little more time on the clock.

larrylegend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 02:15 PM   #2
BrainLeakage

Red Belt
 
BrainLeakage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8,157
vCash: 500
I think only what you do after the takedown should count, not the takedown itself.

Unless it's a slam...

__________________
ModerHATING for the win!
BrainLeakage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 02:18 PM   #3
RepairManManMan

Brown Belt
 
RepairManManMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,946
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainLeakage View Post
I think only what you do after the takedown should count, not the takedown itself.

Unless it's a slam...
Thissss


To me, its like if someone gets the thai clinch and then does nothing with it. They get awarded just for getting into the clinch

RepairManManMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 02:20 PM   #4
larrylegend

White Belt
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 112
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainLeakage View Post
I think only what you do after the takedown should count, not the takedown itself.

Unless it's a slam...
Yea i agree with that, but the takedown alone should reflect positively even to a minor extent. Again meaning that it needs to be scored relative to other factors, which is my basic point

larrylegend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 02:20 PM   #5
kaltkalt
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,250
vCash: 500
I agree but it seems a takedown is worth at least 2 or 3 significant strikes.

That's bullshit. But if in one round fighter A strikes fighter B with 2 good head shots and fighter B does nothing except score 1 takedown on fighter A, fighter B is more likely to win the round - especially if the td happens near the end.

Bullshit, but that's how it apparently works.

kaltkalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 02:21 PM   #6
DilltheThrill

Yellow Belt
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 208
vCash: 220
Takedowns have to score points. They are hard fought maneuvers that put you in a advantages position.

DilltheThrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 02:21 PM   #7
RepairManManMan

Brown Belt
 
RepairManManMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,946
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by DilltheThrill View Post
Takedowns have to score points. They are hard fought maneuvers that put you in a advantages position.
but does no damage.

RepairManManMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 02:25 PM   #8
Vagitarian

Green Belt
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,389
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by RepairManManMan View Post
but does no damage.
is that really the only criteria?

Vagitarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 02:26 PM   #9
DilltheThrill

Yellow Belt
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 208
vCash: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by RepairManManMan View Post
but do no damage.
They still should be scored equal to at least a single significant strike.

DilltheThrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 02:28 PM   #10
RepairManManMan

Brown Belt
 
RepairManManMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,946
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by DilltheThrill View Post
They still should be scored equal to at least a single significant strike.
Why

One does damage

One Doesn't.

RepairManManMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Latest Threads



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.

Sherdog.com Forum Rules Clear Cookies Social Groups Lost Password
Contact Us - Sherdog Forums - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Top - AdChoices

Skin made by Alex. © iStyles.uni.cc Powered by vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
forums.sherdog.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.
monitoring_string = "fd5733925866a04e50edd70f38dfaa35"
monitoring_string = "603ac9fff68f23709f2a42bf5e29272b"