Originally Posted by consortium11
They're not the rules though. That section is from the certification program, which is essentially extra training and explanation for ringside officials. In contrast the section I've mentioned multiple times (about a 10-8 requiring both winning the round and a knockdown) is from the regulatory document in the section entitled "Boxing Rules". In a perfect world there'd be no contradictions between the the two but in cases where there are the rules of boxing have to have supremacy.
I read the point deductions as applying to both the winner and loser... which logically they have to or things would be absurd. That is the winner of the round gets 10, the loser 9 or less and then point deductions are deducted.
Knockdowns are classed as point deductions in the same way as fouls that the referee has instructed the judges to make deductions for. To quote again:
Therefore the winner gets 10 points minus any point deductions from knockdowns and fouls while the loser gets 9 or less points minus any point deductions from knockdowns and fouls.
Usually you're spot on and I find nothing I can argue with you about but you're wrong about this one. I will say I've had this exact discussion with other people before and I have found that most people don't really understand that rule.
You score a KD, you win the round either 10-8 or 10-9 depending on how the judges saw the round. You CANNOT have a 9-9 or 9-8 round without the ref calling a foul on someone.
If you get knocked down, you can fight your way back into the round to sway the judges that you only lose one point instead of two, or in the case of a KD like Mosley/Pac, where Mosley clearly lost the round, the judges should have called it 10-9 Mosley or even 10-8 if going strictly by the book. Pac lost the round when he got "knocked down."
The way it is written in the rules is confusing, I agree but it states clear as day, a knockdown = 10-8 with consideration given to the amendment I posted earlier.
I think of a KD like a field goal in football. You get the point for it, even if you stunk up the field the whole time you held the ball.