Originally Posted by consortium11
But that's simply guidance, while the regulations are the rules that govern boxing. If there is ever a dispute between them then the regulations overrule them much as legislation overrules case law and case law overrules obita dicta.
And the regulations state that for a round to be 10-8 there has to be a knockdown and the fighter has to win the round. It states that knockdowns deduct points and there are no provisions I can see which suddenly make them add points after the initial one.
To use your own quote:
Now, I understand that you beleive that this only relates to point deductions for fouls but that's not what the regulations say:
If the referee calls a knockdown than the judges deduct points. That makes it a point deduction in the same way as a foul.
I'm positive I'm right on this one. I know I just posted this but again-
VIII. SCORING CRITERIA
The Ten-point must system shall be in effect. The winner of the round will receive ten points and the loser will receive nine points or less (minus any point deductions).
· 10/9 From a “close” to “moderate” margin
· 10/8 EXTREMELY DECISIVE (without a knockdown)
· 10/8 One knockdown
· 10/7 Two knockdowns
· 10/6 More than (2) two knockdowns
· 10/10 Cannot pick a winner (very rare)
10-8 for a knockdown. It makes no distinction about how the rest of the round went. You score a KD, you win the roun- 10-8. Those are the official rules followed by the amendment-
X. SCORING KNOCKDOWNS
A judge can only score a knockdown when the referee declares one.
· In most cases two (2) points may be awarded for the first knockdown in a round, for either fighter, one (1) point thereafter for each additional knockdown. However, in rare cases, good discretion must be used and a judge may award only one (1) point in cases where the boxer who suffered the knockdown clearly dominated the round.
It clearly says the winner gets 10 points the loser 9 or less MINUS ANY POINT DEDUCTIONS.