Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums

Go Back   Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums > General Discussion > Mayberry Lounge

Mayberry Lounge Light-hearted humor and intelligent discussion only. No flaming.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2007, 12:25 AM   #1
RC_KOBRA

Purple Belt
 
RC_KOBRA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mission,TX
Posts: 1,668
vCash: 500
will a cable splitter slow down my Internet speed??

I just got a splitter and hooked it up to my broadband internet cable and then ran one to my tv and one to my modem, do any of you all know it this will slow down my internet speed??

__________________
Taking all challengers in Tekken: DR/Cod4/FightNight3/Unreal3
[VALETUDO83/psn].

"I rather die on my feet than live on my knees" - Pancho Villa

TX baby
RC_KOBRA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 12:50 AM   #2
nognognog

Purple Belt
 
nognognog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,564
vCash: 500
As far as I know, splitters do generally degrade a signal a bit, but I doubt it will be noticeable.

__________________
I know in the real world I am better than you in every aspect. That is all I need. -M.Bison
nognognog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 12:59 AM   #3
Ali Baba

Orange Belt
 
Ali Baba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 387
vCash: 500
I thought Internet and Cable TV operated on different frequencies so it wouldn't not make any difference? I do know that it depends on the quality of the splitter you are using. The cable companies use a industrial strength splitter. If you are using some low grade splitter from Rat Shack that may cause problems.

Ali Baba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 01:10 AM   #4
RC_KOBRA

Purple Belt
 
RC_KOBRA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mission,TX
Posts: 1,668
vCash: 500
thanks,I have been using it for like an hour and I haven't notice any thing

__________________
Taking all challengers in Tekken: DR/Cod4/FightNight3/Unreal3
[VALETUDO83/psn].

"I rather die on my feet than live on my knees" - Pancho Villa

TX baby
RC_KOBRA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 01:39 AM   #5
GOMER113

Green Belt
 
GOMER113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Posts: 1,208
vCash: 500
I haven't seen any noticeable difference, but there is a difference. I just ran a speed test and my download speed was 5741 kbps. It's around 4200-4800 kbps when using a splitter.

__________________
"His google-fu is strong" - Valiss
GOMER113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 03:29 AM   #6
FDPN
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: D.C. area (stay away, it sucks)
Posts: 2,575
vCash: 500
Slow? No.

Reduce the quality of your connection? Yes.

It is very possible. I've had similar problems. You should try to avoid using a cable splitter whenever possible.

Every time you add a splitter to the connection you degrade the signal quality. Especially the powered splitters (repeaters) - they are not designed for computer network traffic and will fuck things up horribly by boosting the signal (and noise) to the point where your connection just sucks.

Passive (unpowered) splitters are, perhaps, acceptable.

FDPN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 08:19 AM   #7
H@x

Brown Belt
 
H@x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,684
vCash: 500
best to go direct to the modem if possible...
if there are other ends on the splitter, cap them so noise don't escape

__________________
the white zone is for loading and unloading only. if you need to unload, go to the white zone. you'll love it! it's a way of life!
-
may your shit come to life and kiss you in the face.
H@x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 08:22 AM   #8
MMABurger
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas, USA
Posts: 392
vCash: 500
Nope, I'm using a splitter with my modem connecting both to my TV and to another room. Never had any problem with slow internet, but channel 5 comes in all staticy.

MMABurger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 01:38 AM   #9
Magjee

Black Belt
 
Magjee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7,021
vCash: 500
The information here was better than most tech sites.

Magjee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 06:35 AM   #10
edco76
huh?
 
edco76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,733
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magjee View Post
The information here was better than most tech sites.
It usually is.

edco76 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Latest Threads



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.

Sherdog.com Forum Rules Clear Cookies Social Groups Lost Password
Contact Us - Sherdog Forums - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Top - AdChoices

Skin made by Alex. © iStyles.uni.cc Powered by vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
forums.sherdog.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.
monitoring_string = "fd5733925866a04e50edd70f38dfaa35"
monitoring_string = "603ac9fff68f23709f2a42bf5e29272b"