Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums

Go Back   Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums > Fight Discussion > UFC Discussion

UFC Discussion Discuss UFC, former WEC and former Pride events here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2012, 11:16 AM   #1
claudeb

Yellow Belt
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Barbados
Posts: 151
vCash: 500
Sakara illegal blows analysis

Hi guys (and sorry in advance for being pedant)
after reading hundreds different opinions about this topic I had to watch the video in slow-mo and go through every single shot, take a snapshot and summarize.



In my humble opinion:
1) Legal (completely missed, lands on Cote's right arm)
2) Illegal (because it landed directly on the spine, as far as I know it's illegal. No doubt it was unintentional since Cote moved forward while Sakara was landing the same hammer-fist as before)
3) Legal (touches the ear)
4) Legal (it lands on the shoulder, there is another broadcast-ed pic of this blow that shows it)
5) I can't tell. Considering the pic I saw here explaining the "Mohawk" area I can't really tell if was in or out
6) Illegal, back of the head. Intentional? You decide, Sakara was landing the same technique over and over while Cote was moving up and down. This blow didn't ko'ed Cote that is moving forward after
7) Legal because hits the ear
8) Final hammer-fist. This is the KO shots and surprisingly is probably the cleanest shot, it lands perfectly on the side of the head
9) Illegal and nasty (neck and back of the head). Cote is already unconscious and the fight its over because the referee already jumped to stop it. Despite that is awful to watch it is clearly the same strike as before landed on the back of the head because Cote fell.

I personally believe that mot of us is biased by Goldberg commentary that counted 4/5 blows without being fully aware of the rules.

Summarizing I believe that there were 2/3 illegal and unintentional strikes during the fight and 1 nasty blow after. None of these 2/3 illegal strikes caused the KO, that was determined by legal shots on the side on the head (on a Cote already rocked by the previous elbows). But that's just my opinion, I respect who thinks different after looking carefully at the video. Cheers

claudeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:17 AM   #2
GordaoPreguico

Brown Belt
 
GordaoPreguico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,031
vCash: 500
Thanks for the screen caps.

GordaoPreguico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:21 AM   #3
MMAct
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 206
vCash: 500
5 is illegal, it's kinda obvious IMO.
There is no question about the blows, but this fight should've been a no contest because the referee failed to warn the fighter.
Anyway a DQ isn't outrageous, it's just harsh.
End of story as far as I'm concerned.

MMAct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:46 AM   #4
lionp

White Belt
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 92
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by claudeb View Post
Hi guys (and sorry in advance for being pedant)
after reading hundreds different opinions about this topic I had to watch the video in slow-mo and go through every single shot, take a snapshot and summarize.



In my humble opinion:
1) Legal (completely missed, lands on Cote's right arm)
2) Illegal (because it landed directly on the spine, as far as I know it's illegal. No doubt it was unintentional since Cote moved forward while Sakara was landing the same hammer-fist as before)
3) Legal (touches the ear)
4) Legal (it lands on the shoulder, there is another broadcast-ed pic of this blow that shows it)
5) I can't tell. Considering the pic I saw here explaining the "Mohawk" area I can't really tell if was in or out
6) Illegal, back of the head. Intentional? You decide, Sakara was landing the same technique over and over while Cote was moving up and down. This blow didn't ko'ed Cote that is moving forward after
7) Legal because hits the ear
8) Final hammer-fist. This is the KO shots and surprisingly is probably the cleanest shot, it lands perfectly on the side of the head
9) Illegal and nasty (neck and back of the head). Cote is already unconscious and the fight its over because the referee already jumped to stop it. Despite that is awful to watch it is clearly the same strike as before landed on the back of the head because Cote fell.

I personally believe that mot of us is biased by Goldberg commentary that counted 4/5 blows without being fully aware of the rules.

Summarizing I believe that there were 2/3 illegal and unintentional strikes during the fight and 1 nasty blow after. None of these 2/3 illegal strikes caused the KO, that was determined by legal shots on the side on the head (on a Cote already rocked by the previous elbows). But that's just my opinion, I respect who thinks different after looking carefully at the video. Cheers
Nice analysis. Looking at the bigger picture, I kind of blame Cote - don't sit in a position where you're exposed expecting a technical rule/ref to protect you. On the other hand, Sakara kept reigning down strikes that he must've known were high probability to be illegal, which is a douche move at the least.

lionp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:47 AM   #5
RampageFaction

Blue Belt
 
RampageFaction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 541
vCash: 500
I think it's way clearer when you watch the video as opposed to still shots. I was happy with the DQ because blows to the back of the head are getting out of control and they're almost never called. I wish the ref would have called either the first or second, stopped the action and issued a warning.

RampageFaction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:48 AM   #6
WINNERBYTWISTER

Purple Belt
 
WINNERBYTWISTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,711
vCash: 500
I think the problem is that the shot that definitively put Cote out was the shot that clearly was to the back of the head.

__________________
Favorite Fighters:
Korean Zombie
Barnett
JDS
Ellenberger
Hendo
Weidman
Hendricks
GSP
WINNERBYTWISTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:49 AM   #7
oswald1

Black Belt
 
oswald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: no
Posts: 6,408
vCash: 500
Most of the hard shots were directly behind the ear. As far as I know, right behind the ear is not the back of the head. Sakara got robbed of a legit KO

__________________
Let me tell you how you feelin right now.
oswald1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:50 AM   #8
claudeb

Yellow Belt
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Barbados
Posts: 151
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by WINNERBYTWISTER View Post
I think the problem is that the shot that definitively put Cote out was the shot that clearly was to the back of the head.
then you should watch it again, after the two strikes on the back of the head Cote is moving forward. then he got caught by two legal strikes on the side of the head and drops unconscious.

claudeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:51 AM   #9
ABC

Silver Belt
 
ABC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 11,457
vCash: 500
5 is also illegal. It is on the crown of the head, exactly where the banned area starts.

ABC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:51 AM   #10
Azure

Blue Belt
 
Azure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 928
vCash: 50
If you watch a few seconds before this he lands 2 shots to the back of his head that put him on the mat

__________________
Never argue with an idiot, you'll only stoop to their level and they will beat you with experience.
Azure is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Latest Threads



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 PM.

Sherdog.com Forum Rules Clear Cookies Social Groups Lost Password
Contact Us - Sherdog Forums - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Top - AdChoices

Skin made by Alex. © iStyles.uni.cc Powered by vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
forums.sherdog.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.
monitoring_string = "fd5733925866a04e50edd70f38dfaa35"
monitoring_string = "603ac9fff68f23709f2a42bf5e29272b"