Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums

Go Back   Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums > Training Discussion > Strength & Conditioning Discussion

Strength & Conditioning Discussion You call that a deadlift? HA! Come in and share your woes, girly man.

Old 03-28-2006, 05:26 PM   #1
Alzi_

Orange Belt

vCash: 500
How to improve muscular endurance for BJJ?

My one biggest weakness when I roll is that I gas quickly. Usually after 5 minutes my energy starts draining and after that I can only last another 5 at best. At times I get so tired I don't even have the strength to push the other guy off. I used to think its was due to poor cardio but my cardio has steadily improved from doing jiu-jitsu for the past few months yet I haven't gained a whole lot of endurance. So it occured to me that maybe a lack of strength is to blame for my muscle fatigue. Would it help my muscular endurance if I started lifting weights? I hate weightlifting and avoid it like the plague thinking the BJJ will be enough to improve my strength but if it would help I would definately do it. I'm can't train right now cause of an arm injury but in the meantime I'd like to do some exercises to increase my endurance.

Old 03-28-2006, 07:55 PM   #2
Dawgie
Banned

Ask krazy horse

Dawgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 09:26 PM   #3
teal

Yellow Belt

ya sounds like if you dont reverse in a few attempts your stuck there for the rest of the match if you hate lifting weights why not do other strength exercises in judo you do arm circles both forwards and backwards for about 5 mins in each direction also push ups chin ups lunge walking forward and backwards wall sits, as for stamina you can do sprints uphill walk down and sprint up again do squat jumps lots of fun things to do

teal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 01:05 AM   #4
Heavy Hitters

Orange Belt

sprints are a great way to improve stamina, I would also suggest plyometrics

Old 03-29-2006, 10:55 AM   #5
Clann
Banned