Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums

Go Back   Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums > Training Discussion > Grappling Technique

Grappling Technique You don't know a heel hook from a toe hold, and that's why you need to come here.

Old 11-08-2011, 11:34 AM   #1
The judo bull

White Belt

vCash: 500
Icon11 judo dvd

i am new to judo been practicing and competing for nearly a year now and i am thinking of buying a judo instructional dvd that covers all aspects of judo from nage waza to katame waza and shimewaza and would like help in picking the best one out there and would like to find out which ones have helped all you judokas out there the most? cheers

The judo bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 12:49 PM   #2
Carrera26

Orange Belt

I don't know if you could find it, but Mike Swain's "Complete Judo" is excellent. Every throw from multiple angles with commentary and variations, and an hour just on counter throws and combinations.

Ne Waza of Kashiwazaki is fantastic for groundwork, as is the "Komlock" dvd by Koji Komuro. There are lots of other more specific DVDs like for throws with "Everything you should know about Seoi Nage" by Israel Hernandez or judoka specific like "Koga - A New Wind" or Inoue's boxed set that detail the special techniques and details from those big-name champions.

Carrera26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 02:11 PM   #3
Uchi Mata

Red Belt

Neil Adams' Modern Competitive Judo is excellent. I've heard the Quellmalz DVD is great too.

If you feel the need to sign your posts, you're not worth responding to.
Uchi Mata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 02:28 PM   #4
JudokaUK

Green Belt

Quote:
Originally Posted by The judo bull View Post