Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums

Go Back   Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums > Training Discussion > Grappling Technique

Grappling Technique You don't know a heel hook from a toe hold, and that's why you need to come here.

Old 03-18-2012, 03:19 PM   #1
OhNoZ

Orange Belt

vCash: 500
Another got my blue belt thread

i've been training no gi for 2 years and gi for an additional year and now have reached this stage. I'm stoked even though it doesnt change anything about my game or who i am, it is such an honor to be recognized. i've been told i was at a blue belt level in skill for a while now but i didn't have the right mindset of a bjj practitioner. some of the things discussed on this forum helped instill the right mindset in me so i wanted to say thanks to the experienced guys passing on their knowledge.

the week prior to the promotion i had my 4th pro mma fight. I tapped out my opponent at 34 seconds of the first round with a flying armbar. Although my instructor never taught me this he did teach me to be fearless and do what feels natural. some bjj black belts promote for performance but he let it be known that it wasn't the finish but the mindset is why i'm being promoted. to the white belts reading this, remember that mindset is half the battle of becoming proficient at these combat sports we love. you will not have bad days at training if you take each experience for what its worth.
Attached Thumbnails
LJ pic.jpg   DSC00070.jpg  

Old 03-18-2012, 03:22 PM   #2
dalexan242

Blue Belt

What changes to your mindset did you make?

dalexan242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 03:36 PM   #3
OhNoZ

Orange Belt