Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums

Go Back   Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums > Training Discussion > Standup Technique

Standup Technique Jab, right hook, left cross... is it really that hard? Talk about it here.

Old 07-30-2007, 07:58 PM   #1
Zayn
Banned

vCash: 500
Why is Muay Thai so popular in MMA?

I've always wondered why Muay Thai was so much more popular among MMA fighters than other styles like Karate, Kung Fu, and especially TKD.

TKD is the most popular martial art practice in America, yet nobody uses it in MMA really. Somebody care to explain? I'm just getting started in MMA.

Zayn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 08:08 PM   #2
Sonny

The style best fits the skill set needed for the sport of MMA. Leg kicks, clinch work, knees, elbows etc. are all applicable to MMA.

April 2nd 1982 - January 8th 2014
Sonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 08:09 PM   #3
TOOLfan

Blue Belt

Location: I Love The Place I Live But I Hate The People In Charge.
Muay Thai is more practical for mma for a lot of reasons.

clinch being one, knees, elbows and more straight forward kicks that use the shin.

just a couple reasons.

there are other good forms of standup like kyukushin.

i am sure a search will give you a lot of answers

www.SaintWilhelms.org-member #00088

Your attempts to extinguish me dont bother me none, like retarded kids throwing ice cubes at the sun
"Immortal Technique"
TOOLfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 08:10 PM   #4
damastakilla

Yellow Belt

TKD isn't the best style to used in MMA. The only Kung Fu style that works is Sanshou which is basically kickboxing/Muay Thai with wrestling and Judo takedowns. Kyokushin is the only effective Karate style. Those aren't that popular and harder to find than Muay Thai. Muay Thai is the most popular standup in MMA, because it is effective, easy to find, and others have already used it. Also it is a devastating ring sport and can be used in kickboxing too.