Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums

Go Back   Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums > Training Discussion > Standup Technique

Standup Technique Jab, right hook, left cross... is it really that hard? Talk about it here.

Old 07-05-2006, 09:40 AM   #1
Pacquiao3:16

Orange Belt

vCash: 500
Savate

I took my first Savate class yesterday and I thought it was fun and fast-paced.
Should I continue doing it to help me in MMA?

Pacquiao3:16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2006, 12:02 PM   #2
Sinister
Doctor of Doom

vCash: 502
If your Savate ends up like this, you could be a beast in MMA:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WadTk...rch=kickboxing

https://www.youtube.com/user/LevantarAthletics

For nutritional/supplement advice e-mail to: luismonda@levantarathletics.com. Tips via paypal appreciated for speedy responses.
Sinister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2006, 12:04 PM   #3
AO

Green Belt

i'm in my 4th year of savate and i still enjoy it. the kicking practice alone is worth it

AO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2006, 02:31 PM   #4
SwiftMcvay

Brown Belt

EVerytime I see somebody mention Savate the only thing I can think of is Gerard Gordeau from UFC 1, and when he kicked out that sumo wrestlers tooth. I've never understood why it isn't a more common style in todays MMA scene.

SwiftMcvay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2006, 03:25 PM   #5
Stompede

Yellow Belt

Isnt it illegal to do a MT style Kick in savate?

Saw a program about it once, where they mentioned that they had to chamber the leg and to a TKD kick in order to score points.

Old 07-05-2006, 03:38 PM   #6
triplex429
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by King Kabuki
If your Savate ends up like this, you could be a beast in MMA:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WadTk...rch=kickboxing
i never took Savate seriously until i watched that HL

my coach teaches Savate and was also a champ...i'm gonna take a look into it now