Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums

Go Back   Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums > Training Discussion > Standup Technique

Standup Technique Jab, right hook, left cross... is it really that hard? Talk about it here.

Old 12-11-2010, 02:19 PM   #1
CanadianLegKick

White Belt

vCash: 500
How effective is shotokan?

This is my first thread, so if theres already been one like this, sorry. Okay, well I have some wrestling experience, and im currently at orange belt in judo. My family is moving to some town with the only martial art being shotokan karate. Ive done another martial art for a bit (Dahn Moo Do) its kinda like hapkido. So, im wondering if its even worth it getting into shotokan?

thanks

WW: GSP, Diaz
LW: Diaz, BJ Penn
FW: Aldo
BW: Faber
CanadianLegKick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 03:34 PM   #2
MayanFighter

White Belt

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadianLegKick View Post
My family is moving to some town with the only martial art being shotokan karate. So, im wondering if its even worth it getting into shotokan?
I'm in the same boat as you mate.

*First of all... What your goals are? Blackbelt? MMA training? Self defense?

1).- Hell Yeah! Shotokan is good for self defense and learning stand up fighting.
2).- If you have an Orange belt in Judo, probably you should continue with that too
3).- Take a sample class, or watch some videos about this style of Karate, and see if you like it.

P.s. If you practiced, or watched Taekwondo trainings, you might see similarities at the begining. I've taken both, but never got to the Blackbelt, i will get back there when i'm done with Muay Thai. Good luck!

MayanFighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 03:44 PM   #3
DS614

Brown Belt

Your question is wrong. Shotokan is a style, if Lebron James practiced Shotokan from the age of 5 he could destroy whole rooms of people like a Jet Li movie.