Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums

Go Back   Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums > Training Discussion > Standup Technique

Standup Technique Jab, right hook, left cross... is it really that hard? Talk about it here.

Old 04-01-2012, 09:43 AM   #1
AlexanderH

White Belt

vCash: 500
Critique my bag work :)

Hey guys, I'm pretty much a total beginner, I've got about 6 months experience in Muay thai. However, I've injured my foot so can't kick too much at the moment, so instead of not training I decided to work on my boxing as it's undoubtedly my weakest point. All critique welcome, keep in mind I'm a noob.

Working the bag - YouTube

Thanks

AlexanderH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 10:16 AM   #2
VonSupervillain
Banned

Turn your fist over at the end of your punches. Your body and head stay pretty stationary, even when throwing punches. Left hook is too much arm and telegraphed at times. Footwork gets sloppy and crossed and does not coordinate with the punches. Body seems tense and stiff.

Hand speed is pretty good. You do a good job at keeping your chin down and hands up.

VonSupervillain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 10:37 AM   #3
AlexanderH

White Belt

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonSupervillain View Post
Turn your fist over at the end of your punches. Your body and head stay pretty stationary, even when throwing punches. Left hook is too much arm and telegraphed at times. Footwork gets sloppy and crossed and does not coordinate with the punches. Body seems tense and stiff.

Hand speed is pretty good. You do a good job at keeping your chin down and hands up.
Yeah, I'd agree that I know nothing at all about footwork, although I didn't think I had an issue with turning my hands over until now, haha. I'll definitely work on all of that, thanks.

Old 04-01-2012, 12:44 PM   #4
redpowder**

White Belt

you need way more body behind your punches

redpowder** is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 01:23 PM   #5
Drunkk

White Belt