Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums

Go Back   Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums > Training Discussion > Standup Technique

Standup Technique Jab, right hook, left cross... is it really that hard? Talk about it here.

Old 04-16-2012, 01:04 AM   #21
MidnightSnacks**
Banned

vCash: 500
ive taught lots of people how to wrestle

in high school, i went to a brand new school. only had freshman and sophomores the first year. NOBODY had more than a year experience (sophomores that wrestled one year at a different school). the coach had 2 years of high school wrestling experience like 15 years before but was mainly a football coach who was just covering until they hired someone (but still stayed all 4 years i was there). i had already wrestled for like 7-8 years so i ended up teaching the practices that i was supposed to be training in. kinda stunted my training growth until i started training at a community college at night after HS practice. but in hindsight, i learned so much because every almost single kid on the team had a clone of my style so i go to see all the weaknesses and possibilities of my game lol.

ive taught people the basics of striking also, but i dont feel advanced enough to teach anything besides how to throw each strike.

MidnightSnacks** is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:48 AM   #22
DaGenius

Black Belt

I have had a few people I helped learn and refine their muay thai basics. I wouldn't call them full students of "mine" as they still did normal class. Teaching is fun and is necessary, in my opinion, if you are serious about your art. Help those who need it

DaGenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:12 AM   #23
Reinhard

Blue Belt

Short answer. Yes, I can teach someone how to defend themselves, but nowhere near to the degree of a coach.

Reinhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 04:11 PM   #24
aries

Black Belt

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssullivan80 View Post